IND vs BAN: What Harsha Bhogle said on Virat Kohli’s ‘false fielding’ claim

[ad_1]

Adelaide. Bangladesh wicket-keeper batsman Nurul Hasan has accused India’s champion batsman Virat Kohli of ‘false fielding’ that left his team with five possible penalty runs in the crucial T20 World Cup match. This claim has sparked a huge debate on social media, with fans of both teams arguing. Even veteran cricket expert Harsha Bhogle, giving his opinion on the issue, has suggested Bangladeshi fans not to ‘look for excuses’ after their team’s loss.

On Nurul’s claim, Harsha said, ‘The truth about the fake fielding incident is that no one has seen it. The umpires didn’t see it, the batsmen didn’t and neither did we. Rule 41.5 allows for a penalty during Fake Fielding, but no one has seen it on the field. So what are you going to do!’ He said: ‘I don’t think anyone can complain about the ground being wet. Shakib was right when he said wetting the ground should be on the batting side. The referees and curators must continue the game until it is not possible. And he handled it very well, so minimum time is wasted.

Harsha said in a series of tweets: ‘So my friends from Bangladesh, please don’t look at fake pitch or wet conditions as an excuse for not reaching the target. Had a batsman been to the end, Bangladesh could have won. The whole team is to blame for this… When we look for excuses, we don’t move forward.

The moment that changed the course of the match… Nikhil Chopra shared the reason behind India’s victory over Bangladesh

Chasing a revised target of 151 runs in 16 overs, Bangladesh lost by five runs to win due to rain in a Super-12 match in Adelaide on Wednesday. Captain Shakib Al Hasan conceded defeat but Nurul, who kept Bangladesh in the game by hitting Arshdeep Singh for a six and a four in the last over, criticized the on-field umpires. He said in Bengali in the mixed zone: ‘That away pitch being wet made a big difference. There was also a fake toss from which we should have got five runs but didn’t get it.

VIDEO: Why Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s old statement about Kohli and Adelaide is going viral

In fact, Nurul referred to the incident in the seventh over. The video footage showed Arshdeep bowling the ball from the deep and Nurul says that Kohli, who was leading, caught him and took the action of throwing it at the other end with a baton throw. Both batsmen Liton Das and Najmul Hossain Shanto did not even glance at Kohli, raising questions about Nurul’s reasoning.

According to Rule 41.5 of the ICC Laws of the Game, the fielding team cannot intentionally obstruct or distract the batsman. If the umpire feels that a player has broken the rule, he can declare a dead ball and award five runs with a penalty. Since Shanto and Liton did not even look at Kohli, the question of his distraction would not arise.

Tags: Bangladesh, Harsh Bhogle, World Cup in T20, T20 World Cup 2022, Team India, Virat Kohli

[ad_2]

Source link

Leave a Comment